Holcim Awards Zurich, Switzerland, March 2014

Recognition of forward-looking projects

The Holcim Awards is an international competition that recognizes innovative projects and future-oriented concepts on regional and global levels. A total of USD 2 million in prize money is awarded in each three-year cycle. 

The competition seeks projects that demonstrate an ability to stretch conventional notions about sustainable building and also balance environmental, social and economic performance - while also exemplifying architectural excellence and a high degree of transferability. 

Holcim Awards (main) and "Next Generation" (young professional/student) categories

There are two categories within the competition. The Holcim Awards (main category) is open to architects, planners, engineers, project owners, builders and construction firms that showcase sustainable responses to technological, environmental, socioeconomic and cultural issues affecting contemporary building and construction.

The Holcim Awards also seeks the visions and bold ideas for the "Next Generation" (young professional/student) for submissions of young professionals and university students where all project authors are no older than 30 years of age.

Two-stage global competition

A regional competition in each of the five world regions: Europe, North America, Latin America, Africa Middle East and Asia Pacific. Independent juries supported by the Holcim Foundation's partner universities evaluate submissions on the basis of the "target issues" for sustainable construction. 

The 15 projects that receive Holcim Awards Gold, Silver or Bronze in these five regions are then qualified for the competition for the Global Holcim Awards. 

Competition open for entries

The 4th International Holcim Awards competition is open for entries now and closes for registration March 24, 2014.

Holcim Awards Zurich, Switzerland, March 2014